Right now (personal)

To start of this blog, I thought it might be good to explain where I am in my life right now, 21.05.17.

Right now, I only have a few weeks left of my second year of Upper Secondary School (kinda like high school but a bit different. link here if you wanna learn some more about education in Norway). I’m almost FINALLY done with Spanish and Math (yey!), since I didn’t pick Spanish or Math as subjects for next year. I am so relieved (as long as I don’t get picked for a Spanish exam in three weeks), because I suck at Spanish. I’m actually pretty good at math, but because I picked the “practical math”, I can only have it as a subject in my first and second year. I’m completely done with all major tests and stuff, so I’m kinda just waiting around to see what subject I will get for my up-coming oral-exam.

We just celebrated our National day here in Norway. I didn’t really feel like going down to watch the parade (‘cus it’s pretty much the same every year), so I stayed home instead – in pain from a heavy work-out the day before. We have something called Russefeiring here, which is when the students in third-year celebrate, from spring until our national day, that school is almost over.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s heavily influenced by drinking and outrageous behaviour, and red pants. Anyway, it was so weird to think about the fact that that is going to be me next year. Makes me feel old.

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

My mental health right now is not that bad. It’s not ideal, but it’s not nearly as bad as it’s been before. I think I’m just looking forward to summer break. My dermatillomania is bad though, but it’s probably just from stress. I’ve been hanging out with/talking to more people at school recently, but I’m not hanging out with my best-friend anymore on my spare-time because she’s busy every day working. I feel lonely.

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Music right now is great. I just got a vintage Radioshack cassette player and recorder from GoodOlds on Etsy. It’s great. But more on that in a different blogpost.

I don’t really enjoy today’s pop-music that much, but I’ve been listening to Lindsey Stirling’s new album and I really like it. Maybe it’s just because I love the sound of the violin and I want to learn how to play it myself, but I found the songs quite catchy. Would recommend.

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Writing wise, I started out with an idea for a script, wrote the first page, and haven’t written anything since. I have finished most of the songs that I’ve written, and I’ve written a couple poems.

I’ve had two oral presentations on my favourite book The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky , so you could say I’m not going to read that again in a while. I started reading the book Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher since I liked the Netflix-series so much, but because of school work, I haven’t had the chance (or motivation) to really get into it.

9780141387772

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Tv-wise, like I said, I really liked the Netflix-series 13 Reasons Why. I know there’s some controversy around it, but I really think it was a good way to open up the discussion around suicide and rape. It also added to my love for cassette tapes.

I’ve also been watching countless episodes of That 70’s Show.

giphy (6)

The other day I watched a film called Prisoners, with actors like Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Viola Davis and Dylan Minnette (13 Reasons Why). It was really intense! The plot kept me in suspense through-out the whole film. It was great, totally recommend it.

prisoners-1920

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 also came out not too long ago. What can I say, it’s one of my favourite film-series. Definitely my favourite Marvel film. I’ve been listening to the soundtrack every day. I’ve also recorded the songs on a blank cassette tape (dedication).

vkrEdZXgwP2vFa6AEQLF7f-480-80

Also watched Alien – Covenant the other day. It was definitely an improvement from Prometheus. Ridley Scott definitely brought back some of our favourite classic Alien stuff from the originals that were missing in the last one. Plus, Fassbender was fucking terrifying, funny and weird in it.

alien

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

As mentioned, school is almost over which means I’ll soon have 2 months to do absolutely nothing (just kidding). I’m flying north in like 6 weeks to visit my family. I haven’t seen them face-to-face in a couple of years, since it’s pretty expensive to travel there via plane, so that’ll be nice.

So, that was the “Right now” segment in my life. I hope it was an interesting little read, if anyone will even see this. I will, for sure, look back on this in a couple of years – that is, if I even remember this.

Love Always,

Marie.

Leave a Reply

